Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dziewczyny vs. Dziewczynki

Native language
    English-United States

Dziewczyny vs. Dziewczynki

Hi,

I was very excited to find this forum. I am very new to teaching myself Polish using some language learning software and an online translator.
    I have not been able to determine the difference between these two words (if any)

Thank you!

Native language
    Polish

Re: Dziewczyny vs. Dziewczynki

Here is how I understand those words:
    dziewczyna - a girl (usually a teenager but also a young woman)
    dziewczynka - a little girl or a girlie,

Be careful. Both words can have a pejorative meaning, e.g. dziewczyna uliczna (a prostitute), on lubi chodzić na dziewczynki - he likes visiting prostitutes.
    Last edited by wolfbm1; 13th June 2014 at 12:01 PM.
    We make our world significant by the courage of our questions and by the depth of our answers. Carl Sagan

Native language
    Polish

Basic meaning
    Dziewczynka: from 0 to 13 years (may be extended sometimes up to 16 yrs, if she doesn't appear to be mature)
    Dziewczyna: from 13 to 25 years

Girls under 7 years of age will often be called "mała dziewczynka".

The distinction between dziewczyna (actually a young woman) and and an adult woman is very tricky, and the transition is very blurred.
    Some people will call their friends of the same age dziewczyny even in their sixties, people remain young inside, even if their bodies are aging.

Besides the basic meaning you have idiomatic meanings, like that quoted by wolfbm1.

Native language
    Polish

Also "dziewczynki" is a diminutive form of "dziewczyny" and that's way we're using it regarding little girls.

Native language
    Polish

dziewczyna - girl
    dziewczynka - little girl

Quote Originally Posted by wolfbm1 View Post
    Be careful. Both words can have a pejorative meaning, e.g. dziewczyna uliczna (a prostitute), on lubi chodzić na dziewczynki - he likes visiting prostitutes.