1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

τι and ποιος in questions: difference

Discussion in 'Ελληνικά (Greek)' started by RVA1, Sep 20, 2013.

1. RVA1 New Member

Russian
    Hello everyone,

I have been learning Greek for a couple of years but still can not fix the difference between τι and ποιος when they are used in questions for specifying a noun that follows. Here are examples:
    1. τι δουλεια κανεις;
    2. τι ημερομηνια εχουμε σημερα;
    3. σε ποιο ετος εισαι;
    4. ποιο ειναι το επωνυμο σας;

In my native language τι and ποιος would be translated using one pronoun, it seems the same for English too:
    1. what date is today?
    3. what year are you in? (about studies)

So, could someone clarify the rule when I should use τι and when ποιος is these kind of questions.
    Thank you in advance.

2. Perseas Senior Member

Athen
    Griechisch
    Hi RVA1 and welcome,

I could rewrite your examples as follows:
    1. "Ποια δουλειά κάνεις;" sounds strange but "Ποια δουλειά να κάνω/εις;" or "Ποιο είναι το επάγγελμά σου;" are Ok.
    2. Ποια ημερομηνία έχουμε σήμερα; ("Tι ημερομηνία..." is more common)

3. (Σε) τι έτος είσαι; (colloquial)
    4. Τι επώνυμο έχετε; (not the best idea; also, depending on the tone it could be mistaken for "your last name is strange")
    Another example: Τι πρόβλημα έχετε; = Ποιο είναι το πρόβλημά σας;

It is very difficult to talk about a rule. It's true that "ποιος-α-ο" and "τι" may both mean "what". We can use both "ποιος-α-ο" and "τι" to express the same meaning by reforming a little the sentence (as shown in the examples above). In general, the use of "τι" makes the speech more coloquial, informal.
    Also, "τι" means "what kind": "τι άνθρωπος είσαι εσύ;" ~ "what kind of person are you?". By "τι είναι ΧΧ" we usually mean "what is ΧΧ (definition)?": "τι είναι η καφεΐνη;" ~ "what is caffeine?"

3. RVA1 New Member

Russian
    Perseas, thanks a lot for the explanation you have provided!