вы порете!

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by CitizenEmpty, Jan 23, 2013.

1. CitizenEmpty Senior Member

English & Korean
    Hello. This is my first time posting this. I am an average person who is intensively learning Russian. I would like to request the meaning of "вы порете!". If it is possible I would like to request the original infinitive of "порете". Thank you for the help. Спасибо за помочь.
  2. Ukrainito

Ukrainito Senior Member

Crimea, Ukraine
    Ukrainian & Russian
    Hey. Welcome aboard.

The infinitive is порóть (1) to whip, especially as a form of punishment. (2) to cut (with scissors, a knife) two pieces of fabric previously sewn together

There is also a popular expression "пороть горячку" meaning "to talk nonsense, to drivel"
  3. SamSim-18 Member

CitizenEmpty, we need context.
  4. CitizenEmpty Senior Member

English & Korean
    Forgive me. It's about a three people fighting over a seat in a metro train. One suggested yielding the seat.
  5. gvozd Senior Member

To be honest, it seems to be a very weird example of usage of the verb порете.
  6. Maroseika Moderator

It might be a shorten form of вы порете чушь (talk nonsense), but I really can hardly imagine it in the described situation. Is it a written text or just a talk you heard somewhere?
  7. Maroseika Moderator

I'm afraid пороть горячку has nothing to do with talking nonsense, I think you meant пороть чушь?
  8. CitizenEmpty Senior Member

English & Korean