прывастраючую (Belarusian)

Discussion in 'Other Slavic Languages' started by tishtash, Jan 8, 2014.

1. tishtash New Member

English - Ireland
    Hi!

I'm translating an archaeological text from Belarusian to English for my research - this is my first time translating from Belarusian but I have a good knowledge of Russian. I'm stuck on the word прывастраючую - unfortunately its meaning is quite crucial to me! This is the sentence:

У падаўляючай большасцi мiкрапласцiны Бiручага Логу, акрамя крутой рэтушы па аднаму краю, маюць дробную прывастраючую рэтуш на процiлеглым i плоскую рэтуш на канцах з боку брушка.

I would translate it as "On the overwhelming majority of bladelets from Biryuchiy Log, other than the steep retouch on one edge, there is fine ********* retouch on the opposite edge and flat inverse retouch on the ends." (Inverse has a specific technical meaning in this context, if you're wondering).

So - прывастраючую! (I guess it's in the accusative?) I'm wondering whether it means something like "sharpening" or "blunting"?

Many thanks!

Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
  2. marco_2 Senior Member

Poland
    Polish
    Hello tishtash, I'm not Belarussian but I think that this adjective comes from вострый (sharp), so прывастраючую is the accusative and means sharpening indeed (I'm not a photographer either so I don't know the proper terms :)).

3. tekton61 New Member

Ukraine
    Russian, Ukrainian
    Я предполагаю, что слово "прывастраючую", означает в данном контексте "заостренную" (возможно, в оригинале написано ошибочно). Если перевести на русский, это будет буквально :"Кроме крутой ретуши по одному краю, имеют мелкую заостренную ретушь на противоположном и плоскую ретушь на концах с нижнего бока". Я, конечно, не уверен в точности перевода, нужно смотреть по контексту.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  4. ryba

ryba Senior Member

Hi, tishtash, welcome to the forum!