1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

الثقافة العامة

Discussion in 'العربية (Arabic)' started by eac, Feb 6, 2008.

1. eac Senior Member

USA, English
    I was reading a paper online called "Islamic Education in Syria" and I read this:

Syrian students at the university level are dismissive of the saqafa al-`amma or general culture class, in which students learn Ba`thist ideology. When I was a student at the University of Damascus in the 1980s, this class was universally referred to as “sakhafa” or silliness class.

I am familiar with the word sakhafa (although I think we would spell it sakhaafa) but I can't find saqafa. Is this a word used only in Syria? Also why is it not as-saqafa al-'amma? (This could be a case of the author of the paper remembering the name of the class wrong of course!)

2. clevermizo Moderator

St. Louis, MO
    English (USA), Spanish
    The word is ثقافة thaqaafa meaning "culture". The pronunciation saqaafa can be found in some dialects, such as Syrian. Some speakers in my experience are careful to pronounce th in words such as this (perhaps "higher vocabulary" or borrowings from MSA), but in the general lexicon the phonemes th ث and dh ذ of the urban dialects are pronounced as s and z respectively.

Also I think it should be الثقافة العامة ath-thaqaafa(tu) l-3aamma. If this is pronounced in Syrian dialect, I believe it would be is-sa2aafe il-3aamme or perhaps with q, is-saqaafe il-3aamme.

It is because of the pronunciation of ث as that the joke about it being sa5aafe works.

3. Josh_ Senior Member

the phrontistery
    U.S., English
    In the Egyptian dialect the word ثقافة (thaqaafa) is pronounced as saqaafa. I guess it must be the same in the Syrian dialect.

Edit: Clevermizo beat me to it.

4. eac Senior Member

USA, English
    Thanks to both of you.

5. Mahaodeh Senior Member

Arabic and English