1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

المفعول المطلق، المفعول فيه، المفعول له، المفعول معه

Discussion in 'العربية (Arabic)' started by Mahaodeh, Jul 7, 2010.

1. Mahaodeh Senior Member

Arabic and English
    What would they be considered in English, objects or adverbs? According to Wikipedia, there is something called a 'cognate object' which, according to the example given, seems to be a مفعول مطلق; but the small article says that the verb is specifically an intransitive one while you don't need that in Arabic (i.e., the verb can be transitive or intransitive - ex. نمت نومًا وضربته ضربًا).

Also, what about the others, what would they be? I'm no expert in this so I'm just wondering what they should be considered.

2. clevermizo Moderator

St. Louis, MO
    English (USA), Spanish
    My first instinct is to say anything that is called مفعول should properly be considered an 'object.' But I'm not sure. Can you give an example of مفعول فيه، مفعول له ، مفعول معه? I don't know what those mean.

المفعول المطلق like ضربته ضربًا is called the "cognate object" or the "cognate accusative" in English, that I can confirm. The only thing that means is that the object is from the same root as the verb itself (thus the word "cognate"). The side note about it usually being intransitive in the Wiki articles is because this is how it normally appears in English (such as "die a painful death"). However in Arabic, this type of structure is much more common. Anyway, "cognate accusative/object" is the normal translation of المفعول المطلق in Western treatments of Arabic grammar.

Edit: So I was reading this thread and our well-respected mudīra Cherine nicely defines these terms, so I think I understand.

مفعول فيه is the time or place where an action takes place. I would call these time or place adverbs respectively, depending on its being ظرف مكان or ظرف زمان.