7/6c, 8/7c, 9/8c American TV schedule times

Discussion in 'French-English Vocabulary / Vocabulaire Français-Anglais' started by beri, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. beri Senior Member

    Hi all :)
    Could anyone clarify what 9/8c means in
    Wednesday, October 4 at 9/8c
    it was on ABC (channel), about Lost, season 3
    Tenkyu :p

    Moderator note: several threads on this subject have been merged.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2010
  2. Monsieur Hoole Senior Member

    Canada English
    c'est l'heure

    9:00 pm, 8:00 pm (Central Time)


    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2010
  3. JamesM

    JamesM à la Mod

    [...] There are four major time zones in "the lower 48 states" (as my parents would call them) - Pacific, Mountain, Central, and Eastern. Mountain gets forgotten quite often - it is the least populated time zone, I believe.

    Sometimes programs are aired at the same actual time (UCT) for the eastern half of the U.S. This means that something at 9 p.m. Eastern would show at 8 p.m. Central. It reduces the number of feeds, delays, etc., that the network needs to use in order to broadcast programs.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2010
  4. Muddy Waters Junior Member

    French France
    I understand that "Eastern Time" is "heure de la côte Est des Etats-Unis",
    but what about "Central Eastern Time"?
    Many thanks to anyone who can help.
  5. cropje_jnr

    cropje_jnr Senior Member

    Wollongong, Australia
    English - Australia
    According to this link, it's a time zone in Europe.

    This caveat is important, though, especially if your source text is American:

  6. Muddy Waters Junior Member

    French France
    Thank you, Cropje,

    My source text is American, as spoken by an Asian director of a Swedish corporation in Asia, which is why I'm so unsure.
  7. razovsuki Junior Member

    French - France

    Maybe the answer is pretty obvious but I can't figure out what american TV programmes notation like "7|6c" or "9|8c" mean...

    Does someone have the answer, please?

    Thanks! :)
  8. pitseleh Senior Member

    USA, English
    It's not 7pm for everybody else. It's 7pm only for people living on the East Coast.

    In the U.S. we have 6 different time zones.
    When it is 7pm EST, it is...
    6pm CST, and
    5pm MST (Mountain Standard Time), and
    4pm PST (Pacific Standard Time-- the West Coast), and
    3pm AKST (Alaskan Standard Time-- Alaska only), and
    1pm HST (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time-- Hawaii and the Aleutian Islands only).

    Yes, these are all the same times. It just depends on which state/ region you are standing in at the time.
  9. SwissPete

    SwissPete Senior Member

    94044 USA
    Français (CH), AE (California)
    Yes, some programs are aired at the same time in all time zones.

    The Formula 1 Grand Prix (plural) in Europe, for instance, take place at 2 P.M. local time.

    That's 8 A.M. in New York, 7 A.M. in Chicago, 6 A.M. in Denver, 5 A.M. in San Francisco, 4 A.M. in Anchorage, 2 A.M. in Honolulu.

    (I hope I got that right!) :D

Share This Page