a jean/a trouser/a short? [AE]

Discussion in 'English Only' started by romina_arena, May 2, 2009.

1. romina_arena Member

Hi people,
    I'm an English teacher from Argentina, and lately I've been watching TLC's "What not to wear" a lot. I've found that the hosts say "a jean" or "a trouser" or "a short" many times when refering to "jeans" and "trousers". Given that this is incorrect use of the language, I've decided to post this question here: Is the use of jean, trouser and short in singular getting into the language, or is it just these people speaking incorrect English? This really bugs me because they are the only people I've heard saying that. I'm trying to get some videos from youtube to gather evidence. A friend has also heard it on the show many times, but when we asked a British girl, she said that it was not used at all in England, that it was incorrect. So, we were wondering if maybe it's getting into American English only?

<Moderator note: directions to YouTube add nothing to this post. The issue has been clearly stated.>

I'd be very grateful if someone can help us.

Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2009
  2. ATLGradStudent Senior Member

Decatur, GA
    English - American
    I have heard that a number of times myself and also find it incredibly annoying. Most people never say that. It seems to be limited to a rather small group of people -- those obsessed with fashion and sounding hip and those who absorb the show without thinking.

Regardless, it seems an obvious attempt to find a singular form for these words that would parallel the garments that go on the upper half of our bodies: a shirt, a jacket, a hat. The precedent for using the plural for pants, shorts, jeans, slacks, and trousers is long-standing and I doubt it is going anywhere any time soon.
  3. GreenWhiteBlue

GreenWhiteBlue Senior Member

New York
    USA - English