About много (as numeral)

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by wonlon, Aug 26, 2011.

1. wonlon Senior Member

Hong Kong
    Chinese - Cantonese
    I am studying Russian numbers. The rules are REALLY complex.:warn:

When I studied много as a numeral, I compared several books, but their explanations differ.

1. Declension

i. One says много is NOT declined.

ii. Many say it is declined like plural adjectives

Nom. мно́го
    Acc. мно́го
    Gen. мно́гих
    Prep. мно́гих
    Dat. мно́гим
    Instr. мно́гими

iii. One says "
    Много (or многое, pl. многие) declines both in the singular (Многое было скрыто от меня ‘Much was concealed from me’, Я многому научился у него ‘I learnt a lot from him’) and in the plural..." (Terence Wade's Comprehesive Russian Grammar)

2. In Accusative Case

i. Some say regardless of animacy, the accusative is equal to nominative.
    ii. Some say for inanimate nouns, it is equal to nominative. For animate nouns, it is either nominative or genitive.

What should I trust?:confused::confused:
  2. Maroseika Moderator

You are mixing up adverb много, adjective многое and a noun многое.

1. Adverb много of course is undeclinable.
    Ты много учишься.
    У меня много денег.
    But cf. adverb помногу (in plenty) and понемногу (a little at a time), where we can notice traces of its declinability in the past.

2. Adjective многое is declinable, coordinating with its noun. In the modern language it is used only in Plural:
    многих, многие (animated and unanimated differ)
    о многих
    Я видел многих людей.
    Я видел многие машины из тех, о которых написано в журнале.
    Многим людям это помогло.

Adjectives многая and многий are obsolete and can be encountered only in some stable expressions:
    Многая лета (long live)

3. Многое as a noun (i.e. substantivated adhective) is declinable and is used only in Plural and Sing. Neuter:
    Declension is as in (2):

Я видел многих (людей)
    Многие я уже опробовал (машины).