1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

All the rivers run to the sea

Discussion in 'English Only' started by quietdandelion, Sep 1, 2007.

1. quietdandelion

quietdandelion Banned

Homesweethome
    Formosa/Chinese
    All the rivers run to the sea, but the sea is not yet full.

I ran across the above sentence in a film named "Julian Po." What does it imply? Thanks.

2. Thomas Tompion Senior Member

Southwest France
    English - England

I think it's a jokey hint at the idea that if you leave the tap running and the plug in, the bath will overflow.

It's neglecting to take into account evaporation - there may be many other important effects: I'm no scientist.

3. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    EEUU-inglés
    It implies that a lack of context can produce amusing results.
    Having bathed in the dim light of ignorance, I would take it to be
    a figurative statement that lots of prior repetition of something has
    not changed an outcome.

Yes, I may bang my head against a wall for a long time, and the
    wall will still be there.

Maybe I should do this while in a bath, Thomas.

4. Molot

Molot Senior Member

Hi,

I saw 'Julian Po', a movie about a man who arrives at a small US town with the intent to commit suicide and how the townspeople react to him. I don't remember this line particularly, but I think it is meant to be philosophical, not scientific.