alumno / estudiante

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by Olgap, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Olgap New Member

Mexico - Spanish
    Que es la diferencia entre estudiante y alumno? Hay una preferencia en utilizar uno en vez del otro?

Moderator's note: several threads have been merged to create this one

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2016
  2. belén

belén Senior Member

Spain
    Spanish, Spain, Catalan, Mallorca
    Hola Olga
    Para mi, un estudiante es una persona que estudia, puedes denominarte a ti mismo estudiante cuando te preguntan que qué haces en la vida. Soy estudiante.
    Pero un alumno me da la impresión de que se usa para establecer el vínculo entre profesor y estudiante, es decir, soy alumno de un profesor, pero no soy "alumno" en la vida.
    El profesor suele decir "mis alumnos", no "mis estudiantes"
    Según la RAE:

3. Olgap New Member

Mexico - Spanish
    gracias por la explicacion, me estava volviendo loca decidiendo cual palabra era mas apropiada.

4. ro430 Member

English/U.S.
    ¿Cuál es la diferencia?

5. joseluisblanco

joseluisblanco Senior Member

Español, Argentina
    It's similar to pupil/student.
    In spanish, it may have variations according to different regions/countries. In general, alumno for school (elementary); high school with alumno/ estudiante as well; college with estudiante

6. jacinta Senior Member

California
    USA English
    This is how I understand the difference. Someone please correct me.

Alumno is what a teacher has. An alumno has a relationship to the teacher. A teacher would say "Mis alumnos..."

Estudiante is more general. A young person would say "Soy estudiante en la escuela..." but "Soy alumno de la Sra. Brown".

7. joseluisblanco

joseluisblanco Senior Member

Español, Argentina
    I think it is a good concept.

8. vicky0522 Senior Member

spanish
    Hola