1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

alumno vs. estudiante

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by ro430, Oct 26, 2006.

1. ro430 Junior Member

English/U.S.
    cual es la diferencia?

2. joseluisblanco

joseluisblanco Senior Member

Español, Argentina
    It's similar to pupil/student.
    In spanish, it may have variations according to different regions/countries. In general, alumno for school (elementary); high school with alumno/ estudiante as well; college with estudiante

3. jacinta Senior Member

California
    USA English
    This is how I understand the difference. Someone please correct me.

Alumno is what a teacher has. An alumno has a relationship to the teacher. A teacher would say "Mis alumnos..."

Estudiante is more general. A young person would say "Soy estudiante en la escuela..." but "Soy alumno de la Sra. Brown".

4. joseluisblanco

Español, Argentina
    I think it is a good concept.

5. ro430 Junior Member

English/U.S.
    which is a good concept?

6. joseluisblanco

Español, Argentina
    The one jacinta wrote.

7. borgonyon

borgonyon Modus Vivendi

Shreveport, Louisiana
    Mexican Spanish
    what did she write?

8. joseluisblanco

Español, Argentina
    Please, read post #3.

9. vicky0522 Senior Member

spanish
    Hola

Mira basicamente es lo mismo, todo depende de como lo interpretes, te explico: Alumno bien del latin lumin (creo que asi es) que significa luz, asi que alumno es sin luz, es decir, ignorante. Mientras que estudiante es la palabra correcta para alguien que asiste a clase.

Espero te se sirva ;)

10. ro430 Junior Member

English/U.S.
    gracias vicky...me ayuda mucho!

11. Mirlo

Mirlo Senior Member

Missouri
    Castellano, Panamá/ USA
    :D

12. zeroguille New Member

España - Castellano