1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Ancient Greek and Koine vs. Modern Greek

Discussion in 'Ελληνικά (Greek)' started by JLanguage, Apr 2, 2005.

1. JLanguage Senior Member

Georgia, US
    USA: American English, Learning Hebrew and Spanish
    What are the differences? Are native Grecians, able to understand the Language of Ancient Greece or is this an acquired ability? This would be the language used in the classics, such as the Homeric epics, the Iliad and the Odyssey, correct? Is the Koine Greek used in the Christian Bible the same type of Greek? I was wondering because although I am not Christian, I would like to read the New Testament and the Classics in their original language.

Cheers and Shalom,
    -Jonathan

2. yolanda_van huyck Senior Member

CASTELLON, SPAIN
    SPAIN_SPANISH
    I think there are some big differences; i studied Ancient Greek and my teacher used to say that for exemple, Ancient had more declensions than Modern. Anyway, i think the Bible wasn't written in Greek, could someone help here?
    Anyway, good luck with the reading!

3. yolanda_van huyck Senior Member

CASTELLON, SPAIN
    SPAIN_SPANISH
    i just took a look to this; the Bible has two parts, Old Testament, written in Hebrew and "arameo" (i don't know the English word for this, i'll ask it in the forum), the New one is in Koinè. Hope this helps you a little bit.

4. JLanguage Senior Member

Georgia, US
    The Tanakh (Hebrew Bible), included in modified form in the Christian Bible as the Old Testament, was written mostly in Biblical Hebrew. Parts of Daniel and Ezra, a sentence in Jeremiah and a two-word toponym in Genesis were written in Aramaic, albeit still in Hebrew script.. The New Testament was written in Koine Greek according to most scholars, but some attest that it was originally written in Aramaic.

5. yolanda_van huyck Senior Member

CASTELLON, SPAIN
    SPAIN_SPANISH