angry like a hamster

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by newg, May 23, 2013.

1. newg

newg Senior Member

London, UK
    (France)-ais
    Hi,

I'm studying linguistics and today we analysed metaphors in Hungarian with regards to anger. We had to classify the metaphors and see how the emotion of 'anger' was expressed in the language.

We only had the English translations, therefore I cannot provide the idiom in Hungarian but one of them was 'He is angry like a hamster'.

1) do you actually use this idiom? (I find it very interesting that anger is associated with this particular animal)
    2) if so, do any of you happen to know why the association?

We had a long debate in class because one of the classification was 'anger is seen as a dangerous animal' and we wondered whether we had to put this expression in this specific category because we thought that a hamster was not a dangerous animal. Which is why I'm also asking:

3) in Hungary, do you happen to think that a hamster is a dangerous animal?

Thank you in advance for your answers :)

2. Encolpius

Encolpius Senior Member

Prague
    Hungarian
    Hello newg and welcome to the Hungarian forum.

The correct Hungarian phrase is: vörös mint a rák [vörös dark red, mint as, a rák the crayfish] i.e.: dark red as a crayfish
    You can also say: rákvörös = rák the crayfish + vörös red
    It has nothing to do with the crayfish but its red colour....angry man is red...
    My dictionary says it exists in other languages, too:
    être rouge comme une écrevisse (?) - you know better if it really exists and what it means in French :)

3. newg

newg Senior Member

London, UK
    (France)-ais
    So it has nothing to do with a hamster?

Can't you think of a phrase where the word hamster is used with relation to anger?