1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Asking somebody to be one's teacher (are you willing to be my teacher?)

Discussion in 'Русский (Russian)' started by gentilhom, Nov 7, 2013.

1. gentilhom

gentilhom Senior Member

Girona Espagne
    français
    хотете ли вы стать монм русским учителем?
    Are you willing to be my Russian teacher?

I would like to know whether this is correct grammatically and also the usual way to invite a Russian to help one with language learning. (I have been Learning Russian alone for only three months!)

Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  2. rusita preciosa

rusita preciosa Modus forendi

USA (Φιλαδέλφεια)
    Russian (Moscow)
    In Russian we don't say "Russian techer" meaning "teacher of Russian", so хотите ли вы быть моим учитeлем русского языкa? would work better (unless you are asking someone to be your teacher and specifying that the teacher should be a Russian).

хотите ли вы стать моим учитeлем русского языка? works too, but is is more would you like to
    become my Russian teacher, which sounds awkward to me, I'm not sure why. Perhaps because "to become" implies a "deeper" commitment, for example хотите ли вы стать моим наставником? would work better.

Last edited: Nov 9, 2013
  3. gentilhom

gentilhom Senior Member

Girona Espagne
    français
    Thank you dear Rusita,

I was wondering whether there was a specific way to say to be willing to in Russian...Isn't хотеть too strong a verb here ?

4. rusita preciosa

USA (Φιλαδέλφεια)
    Russian (Moscow)
    Not at all; вы хотели бы / вы не хотели бы would work too if you want to "soften" your request (adition of "не" softens it more)

5. gentilhom

gentilhom Senior Member

Girona Espagne
    français
    Do I have to use язык whenever I want to refer to Russian? Is it possible to just use русский?

6. rusita preciosa

USA (Φιλαδέλφεια)
    Russian (Moscow)
    You can, but it depends on the situation, because it makes your speech more colloquial.