1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

babasa, bumasa

Discussion in 'Tagalog and Filipino Languages' started by Valkyr, Jul 31, 2009.

1. Valkyr New Member

English-
    nagbabasa ka ng libro = you are reading a book
    binabasa mo ang libro = the book is being read by yo

This is my first post:),

The reason I am confused is because to translate I used an English to Tagalog converter and it said that

reading is Pagbasa; babasahín.
    read is Bumasa.

Why is there this slight difference as those who have posted before me seem to accept that babasa is read not bumasa?

P.s I am very new to Tagalog so please don't think that I am in any way implying that you's guys are wrong:0

Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  2. niernier

niernier Senior Member

Manila, Philippines
    Bicol & Filipino
    Make a note of the fact that verbs are conjugated using a root word. I don't know if there has been a standard dictionary form of the Tagalog verbs but do remember that basa is the root verb which means "to read". Babasa and bumasa are already conjugated forms(have a look at the chart below).

Pagbasa is a gerund, a verb transformed to a noun similar to the -ing form in English
    Basahin is the imperative/command form of the verb
    Babasahin is the future tense of the verb and depending on the pronunciation, it can also take the meaning of "reading material" such as a book, magazine, newspaper.

And for your convenience, here is a chart of the verb conjugations of the root verb basa(to read).

Past - Present - Future
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    bumasa - bumabasa - babasa (Actor focused)

nagbasa - nagbabasa - magbabasa (Actor focused)

binasa - binabasa - babasahin (Object focused)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. rockjon Senior Member

English