1. The WordReference Forums are under attack from some Korean spammers.

We have created a filter that requires moderation intervention for all messages with Korean characters from new users. The impact should be minimal, but posts from new users will only appear after a few minutes delay.

Best paper and ink dictionary?

Discussion in '한국어 (Korean)' started by kevirek, Oct 5, 2012.

1. kevirek New Member

Opole, Poland
    Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here :)

I've been learning Korean by myself for almost three years now but up until now I never felt like I needed a real dictionary. A few days ago it occurred to me that having a physical dictionary helped BIG TIME to build up a considerable vocabulary base when I was actively studying English. You know that feeling when out of nowhere in the middle of some task it bumps into your head: "how do I say this word/phrase in Korean [or any other language you're studying]?". Besides, once you open it to look up the word, you almost always browse through for no clear reason and bump into interesting words that subconsciously sneak up into your memory, something that doesn't happen with an Internet dictionary. I must admit, WordReference dictionary and Google Translate are remarkable resources for a learner but as far as I'm concerned, a paper dictionary is the king.

I live in Poland, the Korean language's black hole. So I've made efforts to find a reasonable one to buy one through the Internet, most probably Amazon UK or Waterstones, as I have a friend living there, so I could potentially be granted free shipping. However, all items that I found had at least one flaw that discredited them in my eyes.

To begin with (I can't post links, so you can look these titles up on Amazon, if you wish):

Collins Gem Korean Dictionary