best regards + nice to meet you

Discussion in 'Magyar (Hungarian)' started by Setwale_Charm, Sep 11, 2006.

1. Hello!
    Can somebody tell me what forms are used at the end of a Hungarian letter that would be similar to the English :Best wishes, Best regards, Cheers etc.
    Also, how does one say :nice to meet you?
    Thanks.

2. ronanpoirier

ronanpoirier Senior Member

Porto Alegre
    Brazil - Portuguese
    Nice to meet you = Nagyon örülök

My Hungarian friend always says "puszi" when she signs the letters she sends to me. It means "kisses" and it's pretty informal.
    Maybe "proszit" for cheers but I'm not sure. Maybe some native may help you better. I'm just a student yet :)

3. Isabel-fr Senior Member

The Netherlands
    Spanish
    Jó estét! (good evening)

There are differents ways to finish a letter in Hungarian. It depends if you are writing in a formal way or not. Puszi, as Ronanapoirier says, is informal.
    If you are starting your letter with Dear Sir, or Madam you can finish with
    szívelyés üdvözlettel (sincerly yours,with kind regards from).

Best regards

4. Big thanks go to both of you! Köszönöm!:)

5. Isabel-fr Senior Member

The Netherlands
    Spanish
    Jó estét! (good evening)

There are differents ways to finish a letter in Hungarian. It depends if you are writing in a formal way or not. Puszi, as Ronanapoirier says, is informal.
    If you are starting your letter with Dear Sir, or Madam you can finish with
    szívelyés üdvözlettel (sincerly yours,with kind regards from).

Best regards

SORRY! I made a mistake the it should be: szívélyes üdvözlettel

BR

6. oliveever New Member

Hungarian
    nice to meet you(formal): "örülök hogy megismerhetem" or "örvendek"
    letter ending(formal): "Tisztelettel, your name"- best regards
    "Üdvözlettel, your name" yours sincerly

7. Zsanna

Zsanna ModErrata

Hungary
    Hungarian - Hungary
    Hello and welcome to the forum, oliveever!

Also:
    nice to meet you = örülök, hogy megismertem