bon voyage

Discussion in 'English Only' started by easychen, Nov 14, 2008.

1. easychen Senior Member

How do you pronounce "bon voyage" as a native English-speaker? Do you follow the French pronunciation?

Many thanks!
  2. Cypherpunk Senior Member

Springdale, AR
    US, English
    Yes. I studied French, once upon a time, but even before that, I my pronunciation was pretty close to the French pronunciation. Most Americans seem to pronounce it a bit more like 'bahn', but otherwise the same.
  3. ABBA Stanza Senior Member

Hessen, DE
    English (UK)
    Well, we try to (with varying degrees of success!). The "bon" bit would probably only sound genuine if we were suffering from a bout of influenza at the time, and many of us would probably forget that the "voy" part should actually sound like "vwoy". I suspect that most people would probably get the long "a" in "age" right, though.

The same goes for "bon appetit", where we likewise attempt the french pronounciation, even if many (most?) would probably forget that the final "t" should be silent.

But at least we show willing!
  4. Aardvark01

Aardvark01 Senior Member

Midlands, England
    British English (Midlands)
    Although I often hear them pronounced close to the French, I have heard many terms of French origin deliberately anglicised with humourous intent (if not actual effect):

Bon voyage - bon voyj - bon voyaajee
    Mange tout - mainj toot - mangee toots
    Laissez faire - Lazy fair - lacey fare
  5. Forero Senior Member

Houston, Texas, USA
    USA English
    I usually hear it "bahn-voy-YAHzh" in English (and "bone ah-puh-TEE"). In other words, the vowels are mutilated and the n is pronounced. You could say it "follows" the French pronunciation, but at quite a distance.
  6. sdgraham

sdgraham Senior Member

Oregon, USA
    USA English
    Non-English expressions imported into English are subject vast differences of pronunciation and in some cases, bastardization.