build castles in Spain

Discussion in 'English Only' started by monnypenny, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. monnypenny New Member

Spain Spanish

I'd like to know whether the expression "to build castles in Spain" is common or it has become obsolete now.

2. JamesM

JamesM à la Mod

Hello, monnypenny, and welcome to the forum!

I'm familiar with the expression through reading, but I don't think I've ever heard it spoken in my experience. I have always lived in the U.S. I have the impression this is more of a British English expression.
  3. monnypenny New Member

Spain Spanish
    Thanks a lot for your quick answer. I'm a teacher of English in a public school in Madrid, Spain. Now and then I have my doubts about English, so I think I'm gonna visit this site quite often, 'cause it's of great help for us who are not native speakers. Thanks again. I hope I can help too!!
  4. Welcome monnypenny. :)

Building castles in Spain means the same as "building castles in the air."

Day-dreaming about achieving the unattainable.

Hope to see you around.

5. monnypenny New Member

Spain Spanish
    LRV: Thank you very much for your answer
  6. petiteaurore87 Junior Member

USA English
    In these posts, do you mean to say that in English, "build castles in Spain" is the same as English, "build castles in the air", or that French's "batir des châteaux en Espagne" means to "build castles in the air" ?

Is "build castles in Spain" an English expression as well ?

Thank you !
  7. gasman Senior Member

Canada, English
    Is "build castles in Spain" an English expression as well ?

Yes. I would define it as "wishful thinking".
  8. Thomas Tompion Senior Member

Southwest France
    English - England
    The expression is certainly still used in BE. Brewer says it comes from:

Châteaux en Espagne. [Castles in Spain.] A castle in the air; something that exists only in the imagination. In Spain there are no châteaux.