Chinese accents in all languages

Discussion in 'Cultural Discussions' started by Tensai, Jul 7, 2006.

1. Tensai

Tensai Junior Member

Vancouver
    Chinese Cantonese, Hong Kong
    I have been speaking English for 11 years, I still have a slight Chinese accent, i have been trying to get rid of it.

In my opinion, Chinese heavily accent English do not sound pleasant to my ears. Chinese is a tonal language, it sounds flat, and all words have the same length, speaking Chinese is kinda like machinegun firing, while English has some melodies. many Chinese ESL people, when they speak English, they speak like with no melodies just like in Chinese.

Since I am learning Spanish, I wonder how Chinese accent in other languages sound like?

2. Gato_Gordo

Gato_Gordo Senior Member

The Western Pearl
    Spanish - México
    Wow, It's very interesting what you say, because here in Mexico we say that you sing while speaking.

Of course most of what I hear in chinese are movies (classic Jet Li , Jackie Chan and other Harmony Gold classic movies actually), and the strong rhythm pattern and tonal changes, sound very song-like.

In México City there´s an accent pattern very similar to this, and is used by a large number of people, but only in the capital city.

3. vince Senior Member

Los Angeles, CA
    English
    Cantonese Spanish:
    ou laa, koa mou ei ta? Mei ya-mou weenson yi soa-yi dei ka-la-da y u-si-deh, dei dong-dei eh-lei-si? Aah-bou kang-tou-lei-si yi ying-gei-si pei-lo keh-lo a-ping-deh eh-lo eh-si-pang-you.

"Hello, how are you? My name is Vincent and I am from Canada. And you, where are you from? I speak Cantonese and English but I want to learn Spanish"