Choosing an accent

Discussion in 'Cultural Discussions' started by Hotu Matua, Jul 18, 2007.

1. Hotu Matua

Hotu Matua Senior Member

México, español
    Can a learner of English living in a non-English-speaking country choose whether to speak with a specific accent?

I am a native Spanish speaker and I have chosen to speak English with a phonetics closer to the Southern England's than to the American accent.
    When I was a child, I started learning English with an American accent, as most children do in Mexico.

However, one day I listened to the speech of a woman, who spoke in the most beatiful South England accent you could ever imagine, and I told myself: "Since English is not my mother tongue anyway, why should I feel obliged to pronounce it the American way? Don't I have the right to choose to speak it with an Scotish, or Irish, or Australian accent for that matter?"

How is it in your country? Supposing you have the skill to pronounce words in both the American and Southern English way (or Scottish, or Australian for that matter), and supposing you stay in the country where you live (and do not move to an English-speaking society) how do you make your mind on the way you pronounce words?
  2. Black Opal

Black Opal Senior Member

United Kingdom, English/Italian Speaker
    I'm not entirely sure it's possible to decide on which accent to adopt.

Surely where you are going to be using your second language will have some bearing on it?
    Let's say you were Russian (for example) and you were going to learn English as a second language.
    Let us also say you were going to be living in Scotland.
    Now, you might like the sound of an Australian accent (again, just an example), but it seems to me it would be a bit pointless to deliberately 'put on' an Australian accent.