chorus vs. choir

Discussion in 'English Only' started by karadar, Jun 2, 2009.

1. What is the difference between choir and chorus? Thanks!
  2. rrose17

rrose17 Senior Member

Canada, English
    A choir is a group of singers, who sing together, very often, but not always, in a church or and sing songs with a religious theme.
    A chorus is usually the part of a song that repeats. A chorus can also refer to a group of singers, usually in a theatrical setting, but this is used less often.
    Hope this helps.
  3. Tonza Senior Member

Chicago, US
    English - U.S.
    I agree, except with the suggestion that chorus is used less often. I think they're just about the same. As a classical musician, I hear chorus more often than choir to describe the group of singers. As rrose said, it is usually in a theatrical setting, as in the group of singers that performs for an opera (not the soloists). It's also common as the title of a regular group, like the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Chorus. On the other hand, there's also the Chicago Children's Choir.
  4. rrose17

rrose17 Senior Member

Canada, English
    Tonza, you are right. The more I think about it the more I see why others may find it hard to know when to use one or the other. To me they are not interchangeable, but I suppose finally it's very idiomatic.
    In school there was always a choir. This was a group that met to sing together, usually with only a piano or a guitar as accompaniment. And as an adult you might be part of a similar group that would call itself a choir. My mistake, it doesn't HAVE to be religious.
    Also in school, very often there was a musical (a play with singing) every year.
    You could ask your friend
    "Did you get a big part in the play?"
    "Nah, I'm just in the chorus." meaning he only has a singing role as part of a group, and no solos.

Whew! I don't know if that's clearer, or not?
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009