1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Classical Chinese via Japanese

Discussion in '中文+方言 (Chinese)' started by JAndrews, Jun 21, 2013.

1. JAndrews New Member

English - American
    Hello!

I am interested in learning Classical Chinese (besides general interest, I'm a graduate student in philosophy and want to read some Chinese phil. texts). After doing some reading, the consensus seems to be that learning some of a relevant modern language first seems to be a good idea, and many good textbooks seem to assume this.

I first thought to learn Mandarin, but I have very little incentive to learn Mandarin except as a vehicle for Classical Chinese. I have much more incentive to learn Japanese- anime and such, friends who speak Japanese and want me to learn, general appreciation for the sound of the language, etc. (Of course I don't mean to offend anyone by this; it's all purely personal)

Would learning Classical Chinese by route of Japanese by as profitable as doing it via Mandarin? Would there be any significant disadvantages (or advantages)?

(I'm also posting this in the Japanese forum; I hope that that doesn't violate any rules)

Thanks,
    Jacob Andrews

2. walawala Junior Member

Beijing
    Chinese
    I think all Chinese philisophy texts have simplified editions as well as classical Chinese editons. If you are interested in Chinese philosphy, then learn Chinese, no matter Simplified / Classical Chinese. I grow up in mainland China but I can read Classical Chinese without any difficulity.
    Learn Chinese by route of Japanese? I don't understand why you would do that. Japanese and Chinese are two different languages though most Japanese characters are from old Chinese.

3. xiaolijie

xiaolijie MOD

UK
    English (UK)
    Theoretically, you can get to Classical Chinese via Japanese or Mandarin.
    But:
    - First of all, Mandarin will no doubt offer you a more direct approach.