Coche/Carro = Car

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by grumpus, Feb 7, 2006.

1. grumpus Senior Member

San Diego, CA
    English U.S.
    Hi All,
    I am new to the page. I am very interested in regionalism in the Spanish language, I hope this post is appropriate for this group.

Coche vs Carro;
    Is there an increase of the word carro for coche particularly in Latin America? I have heard recently people in Mexico City (traditionally coche"ista" region) using carro. My assumption was that this was more of the border region (i.e. anglicism) or areas heavily influenced by the U.S. (Venezuelans also say carro). Has anyone noticed in their particular country a creeping carro "ismo" particularly in heavily coche"ista" countries such as Spain and Argentina?
  2. Misao

Misao Senior Member

back in Soria
    Zaragoza(Spain)- Spanish
    In Spain we continue saying "coche". We may use "auto" sometimes..."buga" is old-fashioned slang...We definitely say "coche".

3. WillyLandron

WillyLandron Senior Member

English United States
    It has NOTHING to do with English. It has to do with the Spaniards who settled in Mexico as opposed to those who settled elsewhere. Carro and coche were used in these places even before there was a such thing as the United States, even before there was a permanent English settlement in North America.

Spain and Mexico = coche
    Caribbean = carro
    Southern Cone = auto

All three words are universally understood.

In the Dominican Republic, some rural people say "maquina" just like in Italian. But it has nothing to do with Italians. The darn contraption is, afterall,a machine.

4. grumpus Senior Member

San Diego, CA
    English U.S.
    Hi WillyLandron,