1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

composition notebook

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by cipa, Aug 14, 2007.

1. cipa New Member

Queens, New York
    USA (English and Spanish)
    I am a teacher and each year ask parents to purchase for their children 4 "composition notebooks". The letter is provided in both languages however, the only words I know for notebook are "cuaderno", "carpeta" or "mascota". For some reason this confuses parents but I know no other words for notebook and I really don't know a word for "composition notebook." Can anyone help translate "composition notebook" and maybe even provide other terms for notebook that might be used in Mexico, Ecuador or Peru--which is where most of the parents of my students come from?
    Thanks!

2. fsabroso

fsabroso Moderadiólogo

South Texas
    Perú / Castellano
    Hola:

If those notebook are to write text like an essay we, Peruvians, call it "cuadernos para composición".

regards.

3. zumac Senior Member

Mexico City
    USA: English & Spanish
    Hi Cipa, welcome to the forum.

Fsabroso's suggestion is good, but I would recommend just saying "cuaderno".

The "carpeta" is the equivalent of a three-ring binder, so you don't want that.

The "machote" I've never heard used in the sense of a notebook, at least here in Mexico.

I would suggest also that you specify whether you want the notebooks ruled or plain (rayado o sin rayas).

Strange, but the typical black and white composition notebooks used in the States, are not available here.

P.S, I'm from NYC, and spent several years of my youth in Jackson Heights (Queens).

Saludos.

4. scotu Senior Member

Paradise: LaX.Nay.Mex.
    Chicago English
    Welcome to the forum,

In Mexico we call the notebooks that are used for this purpose libretas

5. zumac Senior Member

Mexico City
    Yes. but "libretas" come in different sizes, and some are with soft covers.