Czech or Slovak

Discussion in 'Other Slavic Languages' started by dopehooks, Jan 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dopehooks New Member

English - Canada
    I have a question pertaining to the Slavic languages family, particularly, Czech and Slovak. But, before I ask my question, I would like to let you all know that I have no real knowledge about any Slavic language in general. I have a few Ukrainian friends who speak Russian, but that’s about it. As for my language skills; I speak English as a native, learned French in school (I live in Canada) and studied Portuguese on my own and found Brazilian correspondents that I speak with via Skype. I’m also very familiar with the Arabic language.

My question about Czech and Slovak is…which would be more useful to learn out of the two? I plan to visit both countries and want to communicate the most effectively with both peoples, without having to learn both languages. I’ve read so many threads online comparing the two languages and I still can’t come to a decision as to which to study.

I've read about many advantages and disadvantages when comparing the two. Here are a few of the points that I've gathered. Can anybody validate these statements for me and give me their two cents.
    • Slovak has more Slavic root words, which makes it easier for speakers of other Slavic languages to understand it better than Czech.
    • There aren't two standards in Slovak, as in Czech, so it’s a little easier to.
    • I've also read that Slovak has particular characteristics in its phonology and morphology that make it seem closer related to Southern Slavonic languages; I have an interest in Slovene too.
    • It's harder to find native speakers of Slovak than Czech.
    • There are more Czech speakers than Slovak, and the Czech Republic has a much better economy.
    • Due to TV, movies and the internet, young Slovaks know better Czech than young Czechs know Slovak.