1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Deployant vs. deployment (watches)

Discussion in 'English Only' started by kew, Nov 25, 2008.

1. Hi,

I am not allowed to post a pic so I am going to have to describe to you what I am talking about.

Some wrist watches which have a leather strap have a folding metal link which enables the wearer to easily install and remove a watch from the wrist. This metal link folds over and clips down which secures the watch to the wrist.

I have always referred to this as a "deployment". I have been advised that it is in fact a "deployant" although this word is not in the dictionary.

Can anyone assist me as to what is correct please?

2. JamesM

JamesM à la Mod

I have no special knowledge about watches but I found both words in use on a search of Ebay, for example. "Deployant" looks like a French word that has been directly borrowed, while "deployment" looks like an English word.

I can't tell you more than that.

3. Cypherpunk Senior Member

Springdale, AR
    US, English
    It sounds like a foldover clasp, possibly a foldover clasp with a safety. A deployment is a particular type of double foldover locking clasp. I think you'll find this page useful, to confirm.

4. JJohnson

JJohnson Senior Member

Southwest Texas
    Texan English
    how about
    buckle
    clip
    safety
    clasp

There may be a specific term for it; maybe some other poster knows it.

5. Thanks. In the wrist watch forums it is commonly referred to as a "deployment" so to refer to it as a buckle, clip, safety, or clasp would not properly identify it. For instance I could say, "the watch has a leather strap with a deployment" and every watch enthusiast would know exactly what I mean.

But today, I've been told it is incorrect to refer to this device as a "deployment". It is in fact a "deployant". As I could not find a dictionary definition of "deployant", I am wondering what actually is correct.