didn't use/used to

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by neal41, Dec 29, 2011.

1. neal41 Senior Member

Houston, Texas, USA
    USA, English
    :warn:Atención: Escindido del hilo No tenías el pelo corto cuando ibas/fuiste a la...:warn:

Se escribe 'used to'.

I used to eat oatmeal every morning.
    I didn't used to eat oatmeal every morning, but now I do.

Some English dialects have an impoverished repertoire of modal verbs and constructions like 'didn't used to' are not used.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2012
  2. RagsToRich Senior Member

English - British
    Thanks everyone that's great.

Hi Neal,

I'm an English teacher and strictly it's "didn't use to" because the auxiliary verb "did" represents the conjugation and the infinitive must be used after that. I think that "didn't used to" is acceptable, but strictly with the question and the negation it should be wrote and said "use to".

"You used to go there."
    "Did you use to go there?"
    "You didn't use to go there."

This is what we teach for the Cambridge certifications.
  3. inib

inib Senior Member

La Rioja, Spain
    British English
    I go along with that, because it's what I've always used (not a good argument, I know), the only thing I've ever read in any of the grammar books I possess, and because it is logical that, like any other verb, after "did" we should use the infinitive. However, I must add that I have seen many discussions about this on WR, and some of the defenders of "didn't used to" were able to provide quotes from grammar books which considered it an option. (I wish I could find the threads now).
    Having said that, my vote still goes for "didn't use to".
  4. neal41 Senior Member

Houston, Texas, USA
    USA, English
    My statement about "impoverished repertoire" was made partly in jest. I am referring to sentences like

I didn't used to eat so much.
    I used to could run 20 miles a day, but I can't anymore.