1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

difficulty of Finno-Ugric languages

Discussion in 'Suomi (Finnish)' started by janecito, May 31, 2006.

1. janecito

janecito Senior Member

Γρανάδα, Ισπανία
    Slovene, Slovenia
    This is what Wikipedia has to say about Finnish language:
    I suppose what this wants to say is that Finnish is difficult to learn for native speaker of Indoeuropean languages because it is so different (i.e more difficult than learning another IE language). But I was wondering would Finnish also be more difficult to learn compared to other Finno-Ugric languages like Estonian or Hungarian (for a native speaker of an IE language that is)?

2. Etcetera

Etcetera Senior Member

St Petersburg, Russia
    Russian, Russia (St Petersburg)
    Estonian is very close to Finnish - I've never done any Estonian, but I'm currently studying Finnish, and when I see a text in Estonian, I always find a lot of words which greatly resemble Finnish ones. For example, compare Finnish päivälehti and Estonian paevaleht - both mean 'daily newspaper'.
    As for the Finnish language, I must admit that I totally agree with this article. My first Finnish classes were extremely difficult, 'cause the language is so unlike my native Russian and English (which I've been studying for ten years already)... But now I find Finnish less difficult, as I know the basic construction, the main functions of all those endings, and so on.

3. jester.

jester. Senior Member

Aachen, Germany
    Germany -> German
    This is a common phenomenon. I like to call that the concept of the language.