Does Romanian have the consonant [h]?

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by tFighterPilot, Jan 19, 2013.

1. tFighterPilot Senior Member

Israel - Hebrew
  2. killerbee256 Senior Member

American English
    I'm no expert, but from what I understand etymological H's from Latin are all dropped and not written, perhaps because H was silent in Vulgar Latin. But h does appear in some loan words and due to the phonic evolution of some words.

Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  3. francisgranada Senior Member

Slovakia
    Hungarian
    The letter "h" in Romanian represents the [x] sound (as ch in Lochness or in German "machen"), it occurs typically in loanwords, as told by killerbee256. E.g. tehnică, hotar (from Hungarian), pihotă (from Slavic), etc...

In the above examples it stands for the original "ch" (see Lat. technica and Polish piechota) and for the soundless "h" (Hungarian határ)

Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  4. Gavril Senior Member

English, USA
    How is the letter <h> pronounced in contexts such as hrană "food"?

5. francisgranada Senior Member

Slovakia
    Hungarian
    I think [xranə], but native Romanian foreros could surely give us more exact answers, e.g. whether there are also words where the letter <h> is pronounced [h]. If so, then what is the criterion?

Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  6. Roy776

Roy776 Senior Member

Kraków, Poland
    German & AmE
    If I'm not mistaken, the correct pronunciation should be [xranə], as ă is pronounced [ə] :)

7. francisgranada Senior Member

Slovakia
    Hungarian
    Yes, thank you :). I've corrected it.

8. irinet

irinet Senior Member

Bucharest
    Romanian
    Hello, there! What things are you saying???!!! The 'h' in my language is the same [h] as in 'hillarious' or 'hey' or 'high', the initial [h], oir 'hip', 'hire', etc., want more??? For those who have this sound in their language, do not be afraid to pronounce it when you see it!