dream of or dream about

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by tuvir, Nov 8, 2005.

1. tuvir Senior Member

Spain
    differences between these prepositions with the verb dream

2. gvergara

gvergara Senior Member

Santiago, Chile
    Español
    Hi:
    According to my Oxford dictionary, there is no difference between the usage of the prepositions of and about after the verb to dream; it may be advisable, however, that you wait on the opinion of a native speaker before jumping to a conclusion. See you

Gonzalo

3. MarkLondres Senior Member

Bogotá Colombia
    England/English
    I am not an expert in these matters, but for me "dream of" implies having something tangible. and "about" makes me think of "being"

i dream about being in italy
    i dream of having a large plate of pasta

only an opinion

Mark

4. jacinta Senior Member

California
    USA English
    The difference to me is that I dream about something when I am asleep.

I dream of something when I daydream or get lost in my thoughts.

Other than that, I can't see a difference.

Then, of course, there is "dream up", which is a different thing entirely. :)

5. gvergara

gvergara Senior Member

Santiago, Chile
    Español
    Hi Jacinta:
    I know you're a native speaker, Jacinta, but the dictionary says you can use them indifferently; you can even look up the verb "to dream" on www.wordreference.com and you'll see that. Seems to me that, like so many things in languages, each person has their own rules for using it. See you

Gonzalo

6. el alabamiano Senior Member

Alabama
    dream of (= imagine, want) He dreamt of becoming a singer.
    dream about (while sleeping) Last night I dreamt about you.

source: grammar "dream of"+"dream about (Google)

7. jacinta Senior Member

California
    USA English
    The word I think you want, gvergara, is interchangeably, not indifferently, if I understand you right.