Escritura Pública

Discussion in 'Legal Terminology' started by Alicia06, Jan 13, 2006.

1. Alicia06 Junior Member

Español Nicaragua
    Field and topic:
    cuando se registra una empresa o negocio

Sample sentence:
    el termino que necesito traducir es: escritura publica

2. begoña fernandez Senior Member

Spain - Spanish
    Hola Alicia:
    Escritura en general es "deed". Ahora bien si es pública convendría añadir que es: a deed witnessed and recorded by a notary public

si buscas en anteriores "hilos" tendrás más versiones, sin duda.
  3. Meggie New Member

US - English
    I have REAL ISSUES with the use of the word 'deed' AT ALL in English translations from Civil Law jurisdictions.

I am a Louisiana licensed attorney, and my state uses the Napoleanic Code - the only state in the US. We are strictly taught not to mix civil and common law terms.

The world 'deed' does not exist in our code, which is a mixture of civil and common law and all in Engilsh. I believe we are the only English-speaking civil law jurisdiction in the world?

In Louisiana, we use private act, public act, or title in place of what is called a 'deed' in common law. (A private act is just between the parties to the transaction. A public act is before a notary, duly acknowledged, with 2 witnesses.)

Any comments on this? Maybe someone from Quebec, or another mixed civil/common law jurisdiction can resolve this for me? PLEASE.
  4. debe Junior Member

español, México
    public deed
  5. Edguy Junior Member

Spanish - Argentina
    Nosotros vimos este tema en la facultad el año pasado, el profesor "Walter Kerr" (para quienes lo conozcan, interprete presidencial de la Argentina) aprob{o la opci{on "nortarially recorded deed".

Me parece una opci{on clara y concisa, m{as all{a de tener el muy buen aval de Kerr!!
  6. Meggie New Member

US - English
    Excelllente. Explica todo. Nuestro codigo dice siempre "public act" y "private act" - pero nos enseñan que significan estes termines.