1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Estar - preterite/imperfect - estuvieron nerviosas toda la noche y no pudieron dormir

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by al.magnus, Sep 22, 2011.

1. al.magnus New Member

Mississippi, US
    English - America
    ¡Hola!

I am a Spanish teacher and came across this sentence in one of our workbooks. I cannot explain to myself or my students why estar is used in the preterite in the second sentence. My understanding is that estar, when used to describe how someone was feeling, should be used in the imperfect as opposed to the preterite.

De repente, Patricia se despertó porque oyó un ruido. Por eso, estuvieron nerviosas toda la noche y no pudieron dormir.

So, why is the sentence not written, "Por eso, estaban nerviosas toda la noche y no pudieron dormir."? Or, if it were written that way, how would it change the meaning of the sentence?

¡Gracias! I will share your responses con mis estudiantes.

-Profe B.

2. _SantiWR_ Senior Member

Spanish - Spain
    Hi,

I would say that, despite what you thought, the preterite is fine. Actuallly, it's probably the only option, because if you say "estaban nerviosas toda la noche' without other context, it sounds like they would get nervous at night, I mean, as something that used to happen in a regular basis, not just once. We are talking about the completion of an action, event or state here (being nervous all night, that is, until the end of the night) so we must go for the preterite. I can't go any further without knowing exactly why you'd choose the imperfect here (makes no sense really), so hope that helps.

EDIT: Well, here it is
    So how would you say that in English? They were nervous all night or they were feeling nervous all night? It's the same?

Santiago.

Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  3. gengo

gengo Senior Member

Here is a clip from a website discussing such things.