estuve, estuvo

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Grammar / Gramática Español-Inglés' started by Hege, Jun 1, 2006.

1. Hege Junior Member

Norway
    Norway, Norwegian
    Hola otra vez todos :p

I am studying hard today, have been sick the past week, so I have a lot to catch up on :) So therefore, here is yet another question :)

What does estube and estubo mean? I can not find the translation anywhere.. :(
    Is it another word that they only use in Argentina and South America?
    And how do you conjugate it?

Hege:):):)

2. andrea89 Senior Member

Zaragoza
    Spain
    ¿Estube and estubo? Do you mean "estuve and estuvo"?.
    If so,the verb is "estar" (Yo estuve, él estuvo)
    pretérito perfecto simple.

3. Hege Junior Member

Norway
    Norway, Norwegian
    my friend writes estube and estubo.. Just like I wrote it.. I am not sure what he means... :(

4. Hege Junior Member

Norway
    Norway, Norwegian
    I went back to the message he wrote, and as I look at the context he has written it in, it might be the same.. maybe they just write it differently in Argentina? Or it is some kind of "slang" maybe?

5. andrea89 Senior Member

Zaragoza
    Spain
    Well, im not sure if estube is used in Argentina or not because im from Spain but maybe they write them with "b".
    The correct way is estuve, using v instead of b.

6. Pumpkin72 Senior Member

Madrid
    Spain, Spanish
    It's just a mistake, trust me :)

It's the same in English, some people always confuse "there" with "they're", "than" with "then", "affect" with "effect", etc. In Spanish "v" and "b" sound the same, so sometimes we fail to write the right one...

Saludos.

7. Libertad Senior Member

Germany
    Germany/German
    Yes, i think also that it is a mistake, because my colombian friends sometimes make the same mistake. They know how to spell but they can make mistakes while writing. Because as you might know, spelling of b and v in spanish sometimes sounds the same.

Estuve allí = I was there.