Etymology: Berlin - swamp?

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by Jana337, Feb 3, 2006.

1. Jana337

Jana337 Senior Member

Hello! :)

The origin of the name Berlin is supposed to be Slavic. "Berl" (sometimes spelled "br'l") should mean something like "swamp", "swamp meadow" and even "fishing village" according to one resource (google Berlin Slavic swamp to get a plethora of links).

I cannot find any Czech word for swamp that would come close.

Suggestions? :)

2. Prstprsi New Member

V mojom byte
    French, France
    In Slovak, we've got word "barina" (=bažina po česky).... :cool: A podľa mňa, to môže byť pôvod tohto slova.
  3. Jana337

Jana337 Senior Member

Well, I am not an expert in etymology but I find the change from BRN to BRL a bit unlikely.

4. cyanista

cyanista законодательница мод

Hmm, Russian has got the word "берлога" (berloga) - a den, a lair (most typically a bear's den). I know, it has nothing to do with swamps - but, on the other hand, it certainly refers to a dwelling. ;)
  5. skye Senior Member

Slovenian also has the word "brlog", which means a den.

But there's no similar word for a swamp. "Močvirje"? Not very similar. On the other hand we also have the word "barje" - it's a swampy terrain where the remains of plants change into turf.
  6. Tchesko

Tchesko Senior Member

Paris 12
    Neither me.
    But the Slavs seem to have had a rich vocabulary regarding "swamps". I've just found out the etymology of Brandenburg, coming from Slavic "brenna" (= swamp). :)

7. skye Senior Member

This last word seems much closer to the previously mentioned barina.

The change from ber- to bar- or br- wouldn't be that unusual, would it? So I think that ber-, br- or bar- could be the beginnings of words which would mean swamp in (ancient) Slavic languages. And the sounds which follow after the beginning seem to have evolved in different ways.

I'm no expert either, I just think there's a pattern here.
  8. Thomas1