1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Etymology of "prieten"

Discussion in 'Română (Romanian)' started by JoshuaG., Nov 1, 2013.

1. JoshuaG. New Member

USA (Midwest)
    English - US
    I'm very new to Romanian, but not new to the field of etymology, historical grammar and Latin languages.

What is the etymology of the word "prieten". Are there other cognates in other Latin languages that perhaps don't preserve a very similar meaning but are, indeed, related.

More generally, are there any non-Latin Indo-European cognates. Although it seems to obvious, I have wondered if it is is somehow related to our word "friend". The furthest back any etymological source will take the word is to Proto-Germanic but I haven't found any suggestion of what it could have come from in Indo-European (if anything).

Mulţumesc!

Josh

2. JoshuaG. New Member

USA (Midwest)
    English - US
    Apparently it comes from the Slavic word prijatelĩ.

Ours is from Proto-Germanic frijōną and frijōndz.

Are these words related?*

Is their any scholarly observation that a tendency of initial /pr-/ and /fr-/ sounds being related among Indo-European languages?

*I still feel this is related to this thread since it is ultimately about my question "if prieten is histocially related to our word friend."

3. farscape mod-errare humanum est

Ottawa, Canada
    Romanian
    Not sure this can help you much: if there are any similarities between the languages it's highly unlikely they would be found where Germanic or Proto-Germanic roots are involved, unless modern French becomes the transport vehicle.

Just speculating, maybe there are some connections with the Celtic languages. A possible clue might be the name Ioan: same spelling and pronunciation in Romanian and the legend I was told in mid-school about a proto-Romanian (sic) king who has defeated the Celts in several battles. Or I could be terribly wrong :)

Later,

4. 123xyz Senior Member

Skopje, Macedonia