Form of nothingness (תַּבְנִית מִ אַפְסִיּוּת)

Discussion in 'עברית (Hebrew)' started by shukunmoppu, Mar 18, 2013.

1. shukunmoppu New Member

Leola, PA USA
    English - American
    Hello everyone, first time newbie here with a headache-inducing (for me) question. After scouring Google for hours over the span of at least 3 days I thought a forum might be of assistance. I'm trying to translate (and transliterate) the English phrase "Form of Nothingness" into Hebrew. The best I've been able to come up with in Hebrew text is תַּבְנִית מִ אַפְסִיּוּת, with the Romanization of taveniyt mi afesikt from a Hebrew to Latin chart. I have learned online translation software just isn't quite up to par of native speaking peoples even with all of our flying cars and mini fusion reactors to power our homes. Oh wait, we don't have those either.

Anyway, all help is appreciated.

(If a little background would be appreciated: I study Jeet Kune Do (Bruce Lee's martial art) which emphasizes not using a pre-defined form of martial arts which can limit your abilities but to take what is needed and leave the rest. He often describes JKD as having "no form" and thus no limitations.)
  2. arielipi Senior Member

T'at a tough one sire!
    Hebrew doesnt have what youre asking for, but this could work, although more context can help a lot: צורת האין
    tzurat ha'ayin - form of the nothing[= of what is not is(=exist, taking space)]
    after reading the bacground:
    חסר צורה
    /x/asar tzura - shapeless

תבנית הריק
    tavnit harik - form[=fill, container] of nothingness[= vacuum]
  3. shukunmoppu New Member

Leola, PA USA
    English - American
    Wow, thank you so much! I didn't expect such a fast reply :). I was someone concerned an exact word for word translation couldn't be achieved but those are definitely of great use.

Quick question, would:
    תבנית חסר צורה
    /x/asar tzura tavnit