FR: continue-t-il, a-t-il, etc. - "t" euphonique/analogique dans l'inversion sujet-verbe

Discussion in 'French and English Grammar / Grammaire française et anglaise' started by Whodunit, Oct 16, 2004.

1. Whodunit

Whodunit Senior Member

Deutschland ~ Deutsch/Sächsisch
    Moderator note: multiple threads merged to create this one

I’ve got so many questions, because I started learning French in school and we doesn’t learn it fast enough to me, so here’re my questions:

1st Do you have to put a “-t-” between “continue” and “il”?
    e.g.: “Comment continue-(t-)il?”
    and in the preterit ?
    e.g.: “Comment continuait-(t-)il?”

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2009
  2. ishatar

ishatar Senior Member

France, French
    1. Yes, because continue-il would sound very ugly (and is simply incorrect).

3. Focalist Senior Member

European Union, English
    Continue-t-il, but Continuait-il.
    You have to put a linking -t whenever -il follows a verb that does not end in t (or d). "Continuait" already has that t.

4. Aoyama Senior Member

川崎市、巴里 (黎)
    仏(佛)法語צרפתית Clodoaldien

Here are some food for thought :
    the -t-il /-t-elle form (question or inverted ) is called a euphonic T , used as a kind of liaison (analogical liaison) because of the phonetical hiatus caused by two vowels (here e and i ).
  5. CélineK. Senior Member

Il y a des textes du niveau avancé qui présentent l'inversion des verbes
    -er comme ça. Le problème c'est que, quand le dernier son du verbe est un "t", il semble superflu d'ajouter un autre "t". Peut-on écrire: "écoute il...?" "chante il?" etc.
  6. timpeac

timpeac Senior Member

English (England)
    Non - on met "chante-t-il" etc parce que ça se prononce "chanteh til".
  7. tiwika Member

Sweden, swedish
    I don't quite know how to use the t you put in between... And this doesn't feel quite right..

Why did she start with the singing?
    my attempt:
    Pourquoi a-t-elle commencé avec la chanson ?