FR: de / du / de la / des

Discussion in 'French and English Grammar / Grammaire française et anglaise' started by loclive, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. loclive New Member

GA USA
    English (US)
    Moderator note: multiple threads merged to create this one.

Hello everyone! I majored in French in college, and I'm still confused as to why certain expressions take de while others form du/de la/des/etc. For example, un peu de . . . where it's always de whereas other expressions, i.e. l'histoire de l'art, keep the article (le/la/les). Why is it not histoire d'art? It's easier to say.

Could someone please clarify? Is it as simple as memorizing the few expressions that take de, or does it have to do with meaning?? I am especially perplexed by the words l'absence de and la perte de which appear in a recent translation project. Any advice on these two specific constructions? Would it be l'absence de ou du desir? Thanks for your help.

Lo

2. OlivierG

OlivierG Senior Member

Toulouse, France
    France / Français
    Hi, Loclive,

It's a difficult question. As a French speaker, this comes quite naturally, and I haven't to think about it when speaking, so I can be wrong in my explanation.

In your example, both "l'absence de désir" and "l'absence du désir" can be said, but with a slight difference in meaning.

When using "de", it's a matter of quantity. "Désir" is taken as something that can be present in various "quantity" (beaucoup de désir, peu de désir, pas (or "absence de") désir).
    When using "du" (replaces "de le"), "désir" is taken as a whole, a concept. It can be present or not.

However, there are probably some other cases in which my explanation doesn't help.
    Probably somebody else here will be able to provide a more complete answer?

3. :-) Junior Member

somewhere
    i didn't understood when do i need to use:
    de
    de la
    du
    des

THNX

P.S sorry about the title i read the rules just now [edit]