FR: Elle avait une très bonne moyenne

Discussion in 'French and English Grammar / Grammaire française et anglaise' started by stumosis, Jan 30, 2013.

1. stumosis New Member

English
    Hello. I'm new to the language and unsure about a sentence

'Sandy avait une très bonne moyenne au 1er trimestre mais elle a chuté depuis.'

1. Is 'avoir' imperfect because of the presence of the passe composé?

2. Is this correct by itself?: Sandy avait une très bonne moyenne au 1er trimestre.

Thank you

2. lucas-sp Senior Member

English - Californian
    I think the verb is in the imperfect because the action described - of "having an overall grade" - is temporally diffuse. It names an ongoing series of actions instead of one action with a definite beginning and end.

You could say in English "She was maintaining her GPA for the first semester but her grades have declined since then." The same kind of time relationship - stretchy and diffuse vs. well-established starting and ending points - goes on in the French sentence.

3. Oddmania

Oddmania Senior Member

France
    French
    Hi,

The Imperfect tense is correct on its own, but it sounds ambiguous. There are basically two different contexts in which this sentence could come up.

• The first one is a "present-day" conversation : "Hey what's up? Did you know that Sandy's average mark used to be very good?" (Sandy avait une très bonne moyenne avant). Here, it implies a past habit, something that used to be true but no longer is.