1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)
  1. charlesread-atlanta Junior Member

Atlanta GA USA
    English - US
    Hi everybody,

Stupid and basic question, I know, but know would I say "What is in the box?"

Qu'est-ce qui est dans la boîte? (I'm leaning towards this since the thing that is in the box would be the subject of the clause)
    Qu'est-ce que...?
    Qui est dans...?
    Que est dans...?
    Quel est dans...?

Sorry for the elementary question!

Thanks in advance!

:)

2. Pierre_zane Junior Member

Beijing
    Chinese
    No need to feel sorry. I'm also a beginner and I agree with you on the first one.

3. Tochka Senior Member

À mon gré...
    I believe you might also be able to say "Qu'est-ce dans la boîte" (What is (it) in the box).

Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  4. charlesread-atlanta Junior Member

Atlanta GA USA
    English - US
    Thank you both very much!

5. spirite Senior Member

southwestern Virginia
    English - USA
    Qu'est-ce qu'il y a dans la boîte?

You had the right idea with qu'est-ce qui, but qu'est-ce qui has to be followed by a verb other than être.

6. CapnPrep Senior Member

France
    AmE
    This is incorrect. You may be thinking of examples like "What is your name?" or "What is the capital of Switzerland?", which should not be translated with Qu'est-ce qui est, but when followed by an adjective or a prepositional phrase (as in the current example, dans la boîte), Qu'est-ce qui est is fine. And of course if être is part of a passé composé or passive construction (Qu'est-ce qui est arrivé ? Qu'est-ce qui est marqué ?).

See also:
    Qu'est-ce qui est si drôle ?

What is
    FR: Quel/Quelle est X ? / Qu'est-ce que (c'est,) X ?
    Quelle est la vraie cause ? / Qu'est-ce qui est la vraie cause ?
    FR: Qu'est-ce qui est ton film favori?
    Qu'est-ce qui est une trahison ?

7. charlesread-atlanta Junior Member

Atlanta GA USA
    English - US