Getting lazier and <stupider / stupid>

Discussion in 'English Only' started by IWantToImproveMyEnglish, May 3, 2013.

1. IWantToImproveMyEnglish Senior Member

Mandarin
    getting lazier and "stupider?" or just "stupid"?

so "getting lazier and stupid", or "getting lazier and stupider"?

<< --- Second question removed --- >>

<<< ----------- See Rule#2 ----------- >>>

Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2013
  2. Beryl from Northallerton Moderator

British English
    Let's see a complete sentence, IWantToImproveMyEnglish. :)

3. IWantToImproveMyEnglish Senior Member

Mandarin
    For example, "Although xxx has brought us conveniences such as xxx, xxx, and xxx, but it also make xxx getting lazier and stupider"

P.S
    - Sorry about those xxxs... I'm a student and possibly the work will be submitted into a plagiarism system to check if I have copied the work online, so this page would possibly be found.

4. Beryl from Northallerton Moderator

British English
    I'm sure the XXX's don't all refer to the same thing, but it would be helpful if you were to at least instantiate the last one ('...also make xxx getting ...').

.... or find some form of anonymous alternative - we need to know its part of speech (noun, verb, pronoun, etc.) Thank you.

5. lucas-sp Senior Member

English - Californian
    Beryl is offering very valuable advice about why the grammar of the end of that sentence might not be completely correct. I just want to point out something semantic:

I became tired. = I was not tired before, but then I became tired.
    I became more tired. = I was somewhat tired before, but then I became even more tired than I had been.

6. IWantToImproveMyEnglish Senior Member

Mandarin
    "Although (some sort of technologies) has brought us conveniences such as xxx, xxx, and xxx, but it also make (people) getting lazier and stupider"

Should I say "getting lazier and stupid" or "getting lazier and more stupid" or "getting lazier and stupider?"