Graduate student, Phd student

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by Jaime_imc8, Apr 20, 2009.

1. Jaime_imc8 Junior Member

Spanish-Spain
    Hi, I am a Spanish PhD Student, that is I had my degree two years ago and now I am investigating to defend a thesis in two years. Well, Im going to visit for three months an American Lab and I don´t know "what I am", that's to say, am I a graduate student?am I a visiting scholar?...
    Thank you very much if you could help me.

2. fenixpollo

fenixpollo Mod Chicken

Arizona
    American English
    Hello, Jaime, and welcome to the forum.

How would you describe "what you are" in Spanish? It would be helpful for us to see a phrase that you would like to translate.

Thanks.

3. icicina Junior Member

Croatian
    Hello Jaime
    I am a PhD student myself in the U.K. To my understanding you could class yourself as a postgraduate student or graduate student when referring to yourself in correspondence letters. You could also be a visiting scholar - all depends what function the American University is going to give you and under which conditions you would be visiting the university. Hope that helps.
    :)

4. Jaime_imc8 Junior Member

Spanish-Spain
    Hi again and sorry, in Spain I am a "doctorando" or "estudiante que está haciendo la tesis doctoral", in fact the phrase that I would like to translate would be the latter.
    Thanks again.

5. Roberto_Mendoza

Roberto_Mendoza Senior Member

Michoacán, México
    Spanish - México
    El término común en EE. UU. para los estudiantes de doctorado que ya aprobaron los exámenes y que están escribiendo la tesis es ABD (all but dissertation) o "doctoral candidate". Saludos.

6. Jaime_imc8 Junior Member

Spanish-Spain
    Thank you very much,I have been surfing on some web sites of American universities and I think you are right and I can be considered as a "graduate student".