Greek loanwords in Arabic

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by Edguoglitigin, Jun 16, 2011.

1. Edguoglitigin

Edguoglitigin Senior Member

Ankara
    Turkish
    Could you share what you know about this? I know one loanword that it has become a root for new word: sophia > S-W-F > tasawwoof

Actually I'm studying on Mameluk-Kipchak texts and these turkic texts have somewhat Greek loanwords and what I wonder is whether those come from Arabic or Anatolian Greek (within the range of 13th century to 15th century)??

The words that I have come across are mantar "mushroom", marul "lettuce", kirevet "bench, armchair", somun "a kind of bread".

2. DenisBiH

DenisBiH Senior Member

Interesting, I didn't know somun was a Greek loanword. This dictionary seems to suggest it entered Turkish directly from Greek (psōmón). The same dictionary suggests the same for kerevet < krábbatos.

Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  3. artion Senior Member

Athens
    Greek
    Here are some more Gr. to Turkish loans.
    http://spacezilotes.wordpress.com/2010/06/29/hellenic-words-in-turkish-language-ελληνικεσ-λεξεισ-στην-τουρκικη/

and more: http://users.otenet.gr/~aker/LekseisA-D.htm

But they include much academic terminology that has been borrowed from Gr. by almost every language in the world.

There is a Greek book with 4.600 words common between Greek and Turkish:
    Title: Κατάλογος κοινών ελληνικών και τουρκικών λέξεων, εκφράσεων και παροιμιών
    Author:
    Κωδικός προϊόντος
    Place and date of publication: Athens 2008
    ISBN:
    978-960-02-2168-8

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2011
  4. Mahaodeh Senior Member

Arabic and English
    Actually taSSawwof is more likely from Arabic Suuf (wool), I've heard two opinions, the less likely one is from Arabic Safaa (purity). Sophia does not really seem very likely; in all cases, this is not a good example because it's not agreed upon.