Harbour and Port

Discussion in 'English Only' started by may_avimo, Dec 29, 2005.

1. may_avimo New Member

Spain and Spanish
    Hi there!!! We are trying a translation and don't know the difference between "port" and "harbour", does anybody know?
    Thank you in advance!!!
  2. Nenita84

Nenita84 Senior Member

España / español
    I think that the difference is that one is natural and the other one, artificial. I mean one has been build by men. I think that the natural one is the port and on the other hand, the artificial one would be the "harbour". However it´s a long time since I studied it, so don´t trust me!!
  3. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    Hola May_avimo,
    Welcome to the forums.

Both mean the same thing. Puerto. However, harbor(AE) or harbour (BE) can also imply a refuge.

4. Hi,

A port is a large mass of deep water which can accommodate sea-going vessels: passenger ferries, warships, merchant ships, etc. It is where goods are loaded on board merchant ships for export, or unloaded from ships for onward distribution.

A harbour is much smaller and is a safe haven for fishing boats and small pleasure craft, although largish yachts may be moored there too.
  5. Nenita84

Nenita84 Senior Member

España / español
    Buff, but for example, "Pearl Harbor" in Hawai was a huge harbour/port. And it was called "harbour", wasn´t it?
  6. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    A BE dict., Cambridge Advanced Learner's, offers

for harbour, and says this of port

7. cuchuflete

cuchuflete Senior Member

Maine, EEUU
    According to WR's own EN dictionary...

a place (seaport or airport) where people and merchandise can enter or leave a country

Harbour: a sheltered port where ships can take on or discharge cargo

I'm all at sea over this.