hard-pressed

Discussion in 'Italian-English' started by jolandarte, Jan 3, 2013.

1. jolandarte Junior Member

italian
    AriCiao! (Ultimamente ho un po' di problemi con l'inglese!:p)

La frase e il contesto sono i seguenti: "Sir, I wonder which dictionary you refer to for definitions of things like 'wrong'? As a hard-pressed journalist, I have always used what is probably the worst dictionary ever published, the 1986 Belgian Academy Guide to Pidgin English. It can be guaranteed to back me up every time, no matter how bad my mistake is. So when people write in to tell me that I have used a word wrong, I simply write back: 'Not according to my dictionary'. This always refutes them (My dictionary gives refute as: ' To tell one fella person to shovel off, to give him a big, bad mouth, to bamfoozle'..."

...In qualità di giornalista pieno di lavoro/alle strette/sotto pressione , ho sempre usato quello che è probabilmente il peggior dizionario mai pubblicato...

Il problema, come avrete capito è hard-pressed. Come tutti i giornalisti, questo qui sarà stressato e pressato dalla fretta: ho almeno interpretato bene il concetto secondo voi? Quale credete che sia il termine più adatto? Avete qualche altro suggerimento?

Grazie come sempre!
    Roberta

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2013
  2. code2004

code2004 New Member

Bradford, England
    English (U.K.)
    Hey Jolandarte!

I don't really feel that 'hard-pressed' has a distinct element of haste. I believe it's more towards a general sense of difficulty (particularly financial). See www.thefreedictionary.com/hard-pressed for a better definition.

Given the context, one is more likely to infer that the journalist is having financial difficulties. If you do wish to denote stress and haste, try 'overwhelmed' ('as an overwhelmed journalist' <=> 'as a journalist with an overwhelming workload').

3. Giorgio Spizzi Senior Member

Italian
    Ciao, jola,

hard-pressed