1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

Hebrew equivalents of Arabic letters: changes undergone, etc.

Discussion in 'עברית (Hebrew)' started by DareRyan, Jan 12, 2006.

1. DareRyan Senior Member

Long Island, NY
    United States - English
    שלום
    (Please correct my spelling, I have virtually no idea as to what I am doing.)

Hello everyone! I am a beginner to the Hebrew language and I have a few simple basic and most likely stupid questions. The first and foremost is: What is the point of having letters that can make the same sound (Tet, Tav / Alef, Ayin / Vet, Vav etc.) Is there any pronunciation difference between these seemingly identical letters? The one I am having the most difficult is Alef vs. Ayin as, as far as I (A very mediocre student) am concerned, they are identical more or less [I have read that ayin is both silent and has a very slight gutteral sound from differing sources]. As I am sure the first word of this post has informed you, I am not exactly learned in this matter and any help is greatly appriciated!

Thank you all for your help in advance

BTW, How do I get Hebrew Characters to work? The top should read what I think is Shalom (Shin + Lamed + Vav + Mem)

2. JLanguage Senior Member

Georgia, US
    USA: American English, Learning Hebrew and Spanish
    No difference between tet and taf, or between alef and ayin. There are some speakers of Hebrew. particularly Arabs and Jews from Arabic countries, who pronounce the ayin gutterally. However, unless you plan to learn Arabic, don't bother with the ayin since most speakers of Hebrew pronounce it like alef.

One thing that you will notice about Hebrew, is there are a number of letters and vowel symbols that are pronounced exactly the same in Israeli Hebrew. These are spelling conventions that are historical and don't have any effect on Israeli pronunciation.