1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

high school, middle school, junior high school (Mexican Spanish)

Discussion in 'Spanish-English Vocabulary / Vocabulario Español-Inglés' started by Bibliófilo, Mar 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm a substitute English teacher in California who works in several high schools and middle schools. I've seen so many different phrases for "high school" that I don't know which one is correct in Mexican Spanish. Is it "escuela alta," "escuela secundaria," or "colegio secundario" for "high school?" Likewise, I'm not sure if "escuela media" is correct for "middle school." Is there a better phrase in Mexican Spanish? I don't want to learn slang.

Anyway, thank you all. I haven't even figured out the word in in Mexican Spanish for "junior high school." LOL! Thanks so much. This is such a great forum!

2. Roberto_Mendoza

Roberto_Mendoza Senior Member

Michoacán, México
    Spanish - México
    There are other threads about this very same topic, but here it goes:

elementary school (1-6) = primaria
    junior hs (7-9) = secundaria
    hs (10-12) = preparatoria.

If you want to be absolutely formal, add "escuela" before each of them (i.e. "escuela primaria"). Junior hs or middle hs is usually "secundaria". I hope this helps. Cheers.

3. Albert 50 Senior Member

Montreal QC and Dallas TX
    Canada: French and English (bilingual)
    I'm a substitue French teacher in the Dallas TX system and I've analyzed the same problem.

As Roberto mentioned, the system used in Mexico is somewhat similiar to the one in the USA. In Mexico you primarily hear:
    Primaria (grades 1-6)
    Secundaria (grades 7-9)
    Preparatoria - also called bachillerato (grades 10-12)