1. The WordReference Forums have moved to new forum software. (Details)

History of Human Language

Discussion in 'Etymology, History of languages and Linguistics (EHL)' started by Lupen The Third, Feb 17, 2010.

1. Good evining,

First off, I'm not really sure if my message is appropriate here or if it can be posted in this forum...so if something does not work good, please delete/move it. Second thing, forgive my English, I know I'm not very good at it.

Well, now I can explain you my doubt :

Today I was studying historical linguistics and then I noticed that the word "name" is very similar, from an orthographic and phonic point of view, in languages like
    - Armenian > Anun
    - Greek > ὄνομα (onoma)
    - Latin > Nomen
    - Sanskrit > Nama.

Natural, then I thought. All these languages come from the so-called
    Indo-European (prototype-ancient language). Of course, the fact could interest a lot of other words.

Anyway, it is strange now to think that in Japanese "name" is "namae", or that woman is "onna"...quite similar to the Italian " donna ".

But Japanese, of course, is not linked to the Latin culture, or to the Italian language... and Japanese does not come from Indo-European.
    And what about Chinese?
    "Yes (in Chinese)" if pronounced is a little bit similiar, again, to the italian "sì".

And Chinese has nothing to do with Indo-European too.
    Now I am Italian and I've noted down some correspondences between Japanese / Chinese and Italian, but it is possible that there are others between other languages ( For example High German and Sanskrit, Indonesian and Turkish and so on).

Here is now the main point: